July 1 Celebration: Press Coverage!

IMG_1151

On July 1st the coalition of workers, business owners, faith leaders, labor organizations and community groups came together to celebrate the increase in the minimum wage and the extended legislation of paid sick days that they worked so hard to pass through the City Council. The press conference was held in front of Flava @ Wa-zo-bia Restaurant.

We had an incredible turnout from various press outlets and some of our own were highlighted. Check these out!

NBC 4“DC Minimum Wage Increase Begins”: http://www.nbcwashington.com/news/local/New-Minimum-Wage-DC-Money-Wages-Pay-265381311.html

Washington Post“D.C. Minimum Wage Measures Won’t Make 2014 Ballot”: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/mike-debonis/wp/2014/07/01/d-c-minimum-wage-measures-unlikely-to-make-2014-ballot/

WNEW 99.1FM “D.C.’s New Minimum Wage Goes Into Effect Today”: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/mike-debonis/wp/2014/07/01/d-c-minimum-wage-measures-unlikely-to-make-2014-ballot/

City Paper“The Minimum Wage Will Increase Tomorrow in D.C.”: http://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/blogs/citydesk/2014/06/30/the-minimum-wage-will-increase-tomorrow-in-d-c/

In the Capital“D.C.’s Minimum Wage Is Going to Increase on Tuesday”: http://inthecapital.streetwise.co/2014/06/30/minimum-wage-increase-dc-950-july-1/

CSN Washington“D.C.’s New Minimum Wage: What to Know”: http://www.csnwashington.com/article/dcs-new-minimum-wage-what-know

IMG_1116

WJLA-ABC 7“Minimum Wage Jumps to $9.50, Will Continue to Climb Until 2016”: http://www.wjla.com/articles/2014/07/d-c-minimum-wage-jumps-to-9-50-will-continue-to-climb-until-2016-104679.html

Voice of Russia– “DC Rolls Out Annual Minimum Wage Increase”: http://voiceofrussia.com/us/2014_07_02/DC-Rolls-Out-Annual-Minimum-Wage-Increase-4077/

IMG_1138
Telemundo– “Aumentan Salario Mínimo en D.C.”: http://www.holaciudad.com/aumentan-salario-minimo-dc-n461774

Washington Hispanic“Minimum Wage Hike, a Triumph for Washington DC”: http://www.washingtonhispanic.com/nota18350.html

WYTV“States, Including Ohio, Debate Minimum Wage”: http://wytv.com/2014/07/04/states-including-ohio-debate-minimum-wage/

IMG_1146

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.