Summer Sustainer Drive 2019

  Sustaining donors are key to the success of DC Jobs With Justice. Your support of any size allows DC Jobs With Justice to be a nimble, multi-issue organization that can respond quickly to changes that drastically affect workers and residents in the District of Columbia.  What we do with the support of our sustainers:  Rapidly react to changes in the community: the 35 day government shutdown, the closing of Providence Hospital, and the slashing of funds to United Medical Center Host monthly education and community building activities for Black History Month, Women’s History Month, and Pride. Support campaigns led by organizations large and small to make DC a better place to live, work, and grow. Take a moment today to become a sustainer of DC Jobs With Justice and support our work year-round!...

Stop the Bleeding: don’t cut UMC

JUST ADDED:   There’s A LOT you can do to fight with us to restore funding to United Medical Center between now and May 28. Take action now! Sign the Petition and share it with your friends: https://petitions.moveon.org/sign/restore-funding-for-united RSVP for the rally on May 28th at 9:00 at the Wilson Building: https://actionnetwork.org/events/rally-for-umc Follow @DCHJCoalition on Twitter and retweet Join the rally event on Facebook and invite your friends: https://www.facebook.com/events/363179434302494/ Email or call (all) your councilmembers with this message: The DC Council has done a huge disservice to the residents of  Washington, DC in the May 14 budget vote by severely limiting funds to United Medical Center. UMC is the only hospital open outside of Northwest, DC and the Council’s actions in the Fiscal Year 2020 budget threaten the hospital’s ability to serve patients and meet the health needs of the neighboring communities. This dangerous action must be reversed in the second reading of the DC budget.Send your email with a personal story to: DC Council Chair:  Phil Mendelson – pmendelson@dccouncil.us At Large Councilmembers o    CM David Grosso dgrosso@dccouncil.us o    CM Anita Bonds – abonds@dccouncil.us o    CM Robert White – rwhite@dccouncil.us o    CM Elissa Silverman – esilverman@dccouncil.us Ward Councilmembers o    CM Brianne Nadeau, Chair – bnadeau@dccouncil.us; o    CM Jack Evans – jevans@dccouncil.us o    CM Mary Cheh – mcheh@dccouncil.us o    CM Brandon Todd – btodd@dccouncil.us o    CM Kenyan McDuffie – kmcduffie@dccouncil.us o    CM Charles Allen callen@dccouncil.us o    CM Vincent Gray – vgray@dccouncil.us o    CM Trayon...

Raise your voice for health justice

                      The DC Council is currently considering a budget that slashes needed funds to operate United Medical Center and forces the hospital to close by 2022. The same bill strips even basic worker protections from the proposed hospital at St. Elizabeths, eliminates the need for the new hospital to partner with Howard University Medical School, and still keeps the public in the dark about the services that will be provided. The DC Council will vote on the budget next week. We need your voice now! Thursday, May 9 10:00 AM In front of the Wilson Building 1350 Pennsylvania Ave NW We will speak directly to Councilmembers about the need for comprehensive health services, transparency, and good jobs in...

We’re hiring!

Position Description: DC JWJ Organizer One Year, Full Time Download the Position Description. Overview: DC Jobs With Justice (DC JWJ) is a coalition of labor unions, community organizations, faith institutions, and student organizations dedicated to protecting and advancing the rights of working people in the DC metropolitan area. DC JWJ has helped win a precedent-setting minimum wage increase in DC, as well as led various campaigns to hold large corporations accountable to DC communities. In the past we have worked on a range of issues, from labor law to health care; from union organizing campaigns to immigrant rights. Please see www.dcjwj.org for more information. DC JWJ is seeking an Organizer to support the organization’s campaigns and programmatic work. The ideal candidate will excel at developing and implementing strategic campaigns, building and maintaining relationships, and building consensus among diverse stakeholders with different priorities to enable effective work together on a common goal. This person will be a team player, excited about the role of unions and coalitions in social change, and committed to justice in Washington, DC. For this position, DC JWJ will give priority to candidates who either have the ability to speak Spanish or Amharic, OR have experience and interest in communications. This position will report directly to the Executive Director of DC Jobs With Justice. The position is available for one year which will begin on the employee’s start date. The position may be extended based on funding availability. Job Responsibilities: Campaigns: Coordinate and facilitate coalition campaigns to promote economic, racial, and social justice in Washington, DC by working with members and allies to develop campaign strategy...

We’re moving!

We are so excited to share with you that we are moving our office to Luther Place. Luther Place Church is an historic social justice church, including a commitment to serve our homeless neighbors, and end homelessness in Washington, DC. We are truly pleased to be joining this dynamic community resource, and look forward to inviting you to join us there. Please note our new address: DC Jobs with Justice c/o Luther Place Church 1226 Vermont Ave., NW Washington, DC 20005 Also, DC Jobs With Justice will no longer have an office line. If you need to reach a member of the staff, please call 202-674-2872 (Elizabeth Falcon) or the person...